This One Is For The Girls

best

Considering that it’s International Day Of The Girl today (I do hope there is one for the men too… Oh it’s 19th November, put it in you diary) it gave me some motivation to write a blog, something I haven’t done in a long time. It’s clearly a subject I am passionate about as my very last blog was about International Women’s Day!

I don’t know who comes up with these ‘specific’ days, but makes social media quite an interesting read sometimes. Having recently becoming a mother to a beautiful (I am biased) baby girl, today seems important somehow. In a world filled with mixed messages about how girls should look and behave I hope that we, society and women in particular, continue to build young women up to be more than just what’s on the outside. To motivate and inspire young women to use their intelligence before their body and to encourage them to have courage and strive for their dreams and success.

Social media is a forever growing beast, wouldn’t you agree? It has the ability to connect us in ways we have never been connected before, it can inspire us to do great things, but I can’t help feel that its negative impact plays out more than people realise. I am dumbfounded sometimes to see how social media can have such a negative impact on the minds of women generally, irrespective of age. You see posts of women with hardly next to nothing on, hashtagging the hell out of their pictures and then in return getting a huge amount of likes for it. That might be great for her, however where are her values? In my head I think that woman doesn’t value her body, if she did, wouldn’t she be more discreet? Where are the values of those people ‘liking’ her posts? Are they encouraging her to continue to behave in that way? Is the real issue here social media or is it he values of society as a whole? 

Then you have women and society generally who seem to tear people down. Trolling I think they call it. What’s that about? I was brought up with “ if you haven’t got anything nice to say, then don’t say anything at all” and generally have respect for other people irrespective of your opinion of them. Somehow social media acts as an scape goat for people to do exactly that, to be nasty and hide behind the screens of their phones or laptops and continue to tear people down.

I’m worried about how my gorgeous baby girl is going to perceive herself when all she sees are women degrading themselves just for some attention. Worried whether she’ll accept herself for who she is and how she looks rather than comparing herself to others all the time as if it’s an expectation to look a certain way. I hope I can encourage her to invest in her education and learning and her inner beauty before her outer beauty. 

Shouldn’t we be teaching our little girls about how they can achieve in life with intelligence first and beauty second? I know I am no super model but I remember one piece of advice that my dad once said to me (he’s biased of course), he said “ Emma, don’t use your beauty to get what you want, you’re a clever cookie, use your head instead and your beauty will be deeper than you know”. Such wise words. I hope that I can steer our daughter in the right direction, away from the fakeness of the world and encourage her that beauty will radiate from the inside out and not the other way around.

It’s not all doom and gloom I guess. We have a female Prime Minister again and across the pond we have a woman running for presidency. Politics aside, if this doesn’t send positive vibes to young girls and women with dreams then I don’t know what would. What seems to be for the first time in history we have two women heading up two very influential countries in the world, not forgetting our unwavering Queen and her commitment to the UK. I think that’s the kind of thing we should be talking about.

I’m not sure I know the answer to all those questions above, but I hope that my usage of social media will be positive and anything I share will be only positively impact those who read it, see it etc.

Anyway, how ever you’re celebrating your day of being a girl I hope it’s been a good day for you. Treat those how you wish to be treated. If someone doesn’t have a smile, give them yours. Be kind to others but also be kind to yourself.

Thanks for reading, comment, share or like.

Over and out!

x

Leave a Reply

